There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.  1 John 4:18

From the title, I bet you were thinking today’s devotion is on The Beatles tune.  Wrong.   Though it is a catchy little tune.  Actually, I have a wooden plaque someone gave me that has this saying on it, and I happened to walk past it after I had done my morning devotional with 1 John 4:18 as one of the references.

loveisallyouneed

The timing of this Scripture passage on love is spot on, since my husband and I will be celebrating our first wedding anniversary in a little over a week.    “Perfect love drives out fear.”  I love that!   Perfect love that only God provides.   Perfect love when He puts two people together that had no idea they would end up together.

I had been burned in prior relationships.  I told my husband (and despite what he says I meant it) that when we went on our first date I just wanted someone to go to a ballgame with.  But God had other plans.   I should have been petrified at the thought of jumping into a relationship or putting myself out there to be hurt again.   But I leaped without thinking and without even knowing I was leaping.   There truly is no fear in perfect love, perfect love ordained by God Himself.   I did a lousy job of picking a mate for myself, but God most assuredly got it right when I let Him do the work.

And, even more importantly, this chapter speaks to the love God has for us.  Verses 16 & 17:  And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.  God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them.  This is how love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment: In this world we are like Jesus.

“Whoever lives in love lives in God and God in them.”   Love is all you need…….the love of and for Jesus and for one another.  Isn’t the Love of Jesus Something Wonderful?